The “ing” Factor

I passed high school by the skin of my teeth. I’ve never quite understood that expression, nor do I think anyone has really, but it is tactfully descriptive, and collectively understood when used in the context of barely getting by- just as I barely did. I didn’t give a rat’s ass, another foreign concept yet totally relevant, about school. School, or much of anything at that point in my life. Now, I find myself drunk off of my academics; scarcely finding time to sleep between assignments, and happier than a pig in shit. Finally, one that makes sense.

I was clueless about half of the language you used last class to describe grammar. A good deal of my ignorance can be attributed to my fore mentioned, lackluster performance in high school. Still, I consider myself to be naturally articulate. Piecing together words to make more than just sense seems logical to me. Or at least it did, before last class. I was so excited to answer the questions on the board that I completely disregarded my lack of formal education on the topic of grammar, and it showed. I think I responded incorrectly more than I provided the right answer. And all the while here I am, typing away like the last Coke-a-Cola in the desert, that’s a Spanish phrase, when I’m more like the last Pepsi in the vending machine; common and replaceable. At least for the moment.

I let my confidence run away with me sometimes, especially when I have a conditioned behavior pattern for getting by with little real effort. While this class has allowed me to explore my unique potential, the grammar lesson taught me more than verb to subject relation. I left with the notion of the “ing” factor. Action verbs are powerful, descriptive, and relatable for the reader. Mostly because of the stale taste that is coupled by all things stagnant. If I want any semblance of a shot at a real writing career, I need to do my homework. I need to take more initiative, and learn how to really put the “ing” in writing.

Leave a comment